Hawaii Space Flight Laboratory

Training a high-tech workforce while building a low-cost gateway to space.  

Home >

Contact HSFL >

About HSFL >
Team Members
Organizational Chart

Missions >
In development
Launch Support

Facilities >
Ground Station
Integration & Test
Mission Ops Center

Presentations >
Conference Papers
Conference Slides

News/Press >

Team access > key
Webmail >

About HSFL

HSFL was established in May 2007 within the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology (SOEST) and the College of Engineering (CoE) at the University of Hawaii. As a multidisciplinary research and education center HSFL brings together individuals from diverse areas to work on the exploration and understanding of the space environment. The mission of HSFL is to:
  • Promote innovative engineering and science research for terrestrial and planetary space missions.
  • Develop, launch, and operate small spacecraft from the Hawaiian Islands to accelerate the validation of new space technologies.
  • Provide workforce training in all aspects of unmanned space missions.
  • Build synergistic collaborations among educational, governmental, and corporate institutions interested in space exploration.

Hawaii is located in a unique position to become a low-cost gateway to space and to place the University of Hawaii as the only university in the world to have both satellite fabrication capabilities and unique, direct access to orbital space. This will enable diverse missions that study Earth's oceans and continents from low-Earth orbit, as well as the testing of engineering experiments in the hostile environment of space.

University of Hawaii participants will design, build, launch, and operate microsatellites in the 1 - 150 kg range that can be configured for a variety of science and educational tasks.

Team Members

HSFL is headed by Director Luke Flynn, Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology (SOEST).
Alphabetical listing of team members:
Burley, Stewart
Chan, Jeremy
Doi, William
Flynn, Luke
French, Lloyd
Garbeil, Harold
Gouveia, Leonard
Gregory, Elizabeth
Horton, Keith
Kobayashi, Marcelo
Lee-Ho, Zachary
Menendez, Michael
Nunes, Miguel
Pilger, Eric
Sorensen, Trevor
Williams, Tim
Wood, Mark
Wright, Robert
Yamura, Reid
Yoneshige, Lance

Organizational Chart

Chart (Rev. 6.2010)


University of Hawaii
U. H. Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology
U. H. School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
U. H. College of Engineering
Hawaii Space Grant Consortium


Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)
NASA Ames Research Center, California
Pacific Missile Range Facility (PMRF), Kauai
Santa Clara University, California
White Sands Missile Range

UH Manoa      SOEST      College of Engineering      Hawaii Space Grant Consortium
2012   © Hawaii Space Flight Laboratory · University of Hawaii at Manoa · Honolulu, HI 96822